[rrd-users] Lost Data??
Martin Lietz
flieger.martin at web.de
Thu Oct 9 13:36:38 CEST 2008
About Topic 7,8:
Hello Andy,
i dont send the code because i used the rrds from Smokeping until now, but i found the position in Tobias Code and this is the code i think:
<code>
if ($prop eq 'host' and check_filter($cfg,$name)) {
385 # print "init $name\n";
386 die "Error: Invalid Probe: $tree->{probe}" unless defined $probes->{$tree->{probe}};
387 my $probeobj = $probes->{$tree->{probe}};
388 my $step = $probeobj->step();
389 # we have to do the add before calling the _pings method, it won't work otherwise
390 if($tree->{$prop} =~ /^DYNAMIC/) {
391 $probeobj->add($tree,$name);
392 } else {
393 $probeobj->add($tree,$tree->{$prop});
394 }
395 my $pings = $probeobj->_pings($tree);
396
397 my @create =
398 ($name.".rrd", "--step",$step,
399 "DS:uptime:GAUGE:".(2*$step).":0:U",
400 "DS:loss:GAUGE:".(2*$step).":0:".$pings,
401 # 180 Seconds is the max rtt we consider valid ...
402 "DS:median:GAUGE:".(2*$step).":0:180",
403 (map { "DS:ping${_}:GAUGE:".(2*$step).":0:180" }
404 1..$pings),
405 (map { "RRA:".(join ":", @{$_}) } @{$cfg->{Database}{_table}} ));
406 if (not -f $name.".rrd"){
407 unless ($cgimode) {
408 do_debuglog("Calling RRDs::create(@create)");
409 RRDs::create(@create);
410 my $ERROR = RRDs::error();
411 do_log "RRDs::create ERROR: $ERROR\n" if $ERROR;
412 }
413 } else {
414 shift @create; # remove the filename
415 my ($fatal, $comparison) = Smokeping::RRDtools::compare($name.".rrd", \@create);
416 die("Error: RRD parameter mismatch ('$comparison'). You must delete $name.rrd or fix the configuration parameters.\n")
417 if $fatal;
418 warn("Warning: RRD parameter mismatch('$comparison'). Continuing anyway.\n") if $comparison and not $fatal;
419 Smokeping::RRDtools::tuneds($name.".rrd", \@create);
420 }
</code>
This is the code from the Smokeping.pm File. But i can not see any difference. Also i never read about some possibility to make different time slots in rrdtool.
And yesterday i made an interesting test. For to see when the problems start in my rrd file I searched the data for every day in the last week between 15:00 16:00 and found that the problem starts with !2days! before now. But if i want to see the last week(or last day, last month last year) no error occurs. Interesting isnt't it.
Regards Martin
> -----Ursprüngliche Nachricht-----
> Von: <rrd-users-request at lists.oetiker.ch>
> Gesendet: 08.10.08 23:57:30
> An: rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> Betreff: rrd-users Digest, Vol 22, Issue 6
> Send rrd-users mailing list submissions to
> rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
>
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> https://lists.oetiker.ch/cgi-bin/listinfo/rrd-users
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> rrd-users-request at lists.oetiker.ch
>
> You can reach the person managing the list at
> rrd-users-owner at lists.oetiker.ch
>
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of rrd-users digest..."
>
>
> Today's Topics:
>
> 1. Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same absolute value
> ((private) HKS)
> 2. Re: Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same absolute value
> (Tobias Oetiker)
> 3. Re: Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same absolute value
> (Simon Hobson)
> 4. Re: Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same absolute value
> ((private) HKS)
> 5. Re: Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same absolute value
> (Tobias Oetiker)
> 6. Re: Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same absolute value
> ((private) HKS)
> 7. Re: Lost Data?? (Martin Lietz)
> 8. Re: Lost Data?? (Andy Riebs)
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Wed, 8 Oct 2008 13:07:34 -0400
> From: "(private) HKS" <hks.private at gmail.com>
> Subject: [rrd-users] Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same absolute
> value
> To: rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> Message-ID:
> <ac9ded160810081007j5021a009md063ce528dcfa9e5 at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
>
> Hi all,
>
> I'm new to rrdtools, but couldn't find an answer to this in the
> documentation or the mailing list archives. Perhaps it's not possible,
> but it seems like something that might have come up before.
>
> I've got several traffic graphs that map inbound traffic to positive
> y-values and outbound traffic to negative y-values. I want the y-axis
> to continue autoscaling, but I would like the max and min values to
> scale at the same rate. In other words, abs(min) should always equal
> abs(max). Is this possible with rrdgraph?
>
> Thanks for the help.
>
> -HKS
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 2
> Date: Wed, 8 Oct 2008 19:49:11 +0200 (CEST)
> From: Tobias Oetiker <tobi at oetiker.ch>
> Subject: Re: [rrd-users] Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same
> absolute value
> To: "(private) HKS" <hks.private at gmail.com>
> Cc: rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> Message-ID: <alpine.DEB.1.99.0810081948120.19975 at sebohet.brgvxre.pu>
> Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII
>
> Hi HKS,
>
> Today (private) HKS wrote:
>
> > Hi all,
> >
> > I'm new to rrdtools, but couldn't find an answer to this in the
> > documentation or the mailing list archives. Perhaps it's not possible,
> > but it seems like something that might have come up before.
> >
> > I've got several traffic graphs that map inbound traffic to positive
> > y-values and outbound traffic to negative y-values. I want the y-axis
> > to continue autoscaling, but I would like the max and min values to
> > scale at the same rate. In other words, abs(min) should always equal
> > abs(max). Is this possible with rrdgraph?
>
> you could paint outbund traffic with the background color in the
> positive y axis and the other way round, then the graph will scale
> equally
>
> cheers
> tobi
>
> >
> > Thanks for the help.
> >
> > -HKS
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > rrd-users mailing list
> > rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> > https://lists.oetiker.ch/cgi-bin/listinfo/rrd-users
> >
> >
>
> --
> Tobi Oetiker, OETIKER+PARTNER AG, Aarweg 15 CH-4600 Olten, Switzerland
> http://it.oetiker.ch tobi at oetiker.ch ++41 62 775 9902 / sb: -9900
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 3
> Date: Wed, 8 Oct 2008 19:39:50 +0100
> From: Simon Hobson <linux at thehobsons.co.uk>
> Subject: Re: [rrd-users] Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same
> absolute value
> To: rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> Message-ID: <a06240803c512add96aae at simon.thehobsons.co.uk>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii" ; format="flowed"
>
> Tobias Oetiker wrote:
>
> > > I've got several traffic graphs that map inbound traffic to positive
> >> y-values and outbound traffic to negative y-values. I want the y-axis
> >> to continue autoscaling, but I would like the max and min values to
> >> scale at the same rate. In other words, abs(min) should always equal
> >> abs(max). Is this possible with rrdgraph?
> >
> >you could paint outbund traffic with the background color in the
> >positive y axis and the other way round, then the graph will scale
> >equally
>
> I had to think about that for a minute, it might not be clear to a new user.
>
> Just to clarify, you mean :
>
> Paint outbound traffic as positive using background colour
> Paint inbound traffic as positive with inbound data colour
>
> Paint inbound traffic as negative using background colour
> Paint outbound traffic as negative using outbound data colour
>
> Thus the Y axis will scale on the positive side to include the max
> value of inbound or outbound traffic, and it will scale on the
> negative side to include the min value of -ve inbound and -ve
> outbound traffic. Painting the data with the background colour
> doesn't draw anything visible, but it will cause the graph to
> autoscale to include it.
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 4
> Date: Wed, 8 Oct 2008 15:11:07 -0400
> From: "(private) HKS" <hks.private at gmail.com>
> Subject: Re: [rrd-users] Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same
> absolute value
> To: rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> Message-ID:
> <ac9ded160810081211u6757b0adp60a50342316b0c16 at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
>
> Thank you, that's taken me in the right direction. When I add
> "LINE:<datasource>" to my graph definition, it doesn't actually change
> anything. Increasing the width (LINE1:<datasource>) draws the graph
> correctly with no visible line - but for each line I drew, a black box
> appears in the legend section of the graph. Is it possible to draw a
> line without a legend at all?
>
> Thanks again for the help.
>
> -HKS
>
>
> On Wed, Oct 8, 2008 at 2:39 PM, Simon Hobson <linux at thehobsons.co.uk> wrote:
> > Tobias Oetiker wrote:
> >
> >> > I've got several traffic graphs that map inbound traffic to positive
> >>> y-values and outbound traffic to negative y-values. I want the y-axis
> >>> to continue autoscaling, but I would like the max and min values to
> >>> scale at the same rate. In other words, abs(min) should always equal
> >>> abs(max). Is this possible with rrdgraph?
> >>
> >>you could paint outbund traffic with the background color in the
> >>positive y axis and the other way round, then the graph will scale
> >>equally
> >
> > I had to think about that for a minute, it might not be clear to a new user.
> >
> > Just to clarify, you mean :
> >
> > Paint outbound traffic as positive using background colour
> > Paint inbound traffic as positive with inbound data colour
> >
> > Paint inbound traffic as negative using background colour
> > Paint outbound traffic as negative using outbound data colour
> >
> > Thus the Y axis will scale on the positive side to include the max
> > value of inbound or outbound traffic, and it will scale on the
> > negative side to include the min value of -ve inbound and -ve
> > outbound traffic. Painting the data with the background colour
> > doesn't draw anything visible, but it will cause the graph to
> > autoscale to include it.
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > rrd-users mailing list
> > rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> > https://lists.oetiker.ch/cgi-bin/listinfo/rrd-users
> >
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 5
> Date: Wed, 8 Oct 2008 21:17:07 +0200 (CEST)
> From: Tobias Oetiker <tobi at oetiker.ch>
> Subject: Re: [rrd-users] Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same
> absolute value
> To: "(private) HKS" <hks.private at gmail.com>
> Cc: rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> Message-ID: <alpine.DEB.1.99.0810082116290.19975 at sebohet.brgvxre.pu>
> Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII
>
> HKS,
>
> the black box gets only drawn when there is a legend (or a bug in
> your version of rrdtool).
>
> cheers
> tobi
>
> Today (private) HKS wrote:
>
> > Thank you, that's taken me in the right direction. When I add
> > "LINE:<datasource>" to my graph definition, it doesn't actually change
> > anything. Increasing the width (LINE1:<datasource>) draws the graph
> > correctly with no visible line - but for each line I drew, a black box
> > appears in the legend section of the graph. Is it possible to draw a
> > line without a legend at all?
> >
> > Thanks again for the help.
> >
> > -HKS
> >
> >
> > On Wed, Oct 8, 2008 at 2:39 PM, Simon Hobson <linux at thehobsons.co.uk> wrote:
> > > Tobias Oetiker wrote:
> > >
> > >> > I've got several traffic graphs that map inbound traffic to positive
> > >>> y-values and outbound traffic to negative y-values. I want the y-axis
> > >>> to continue autoscaling, but I would like the max and min values to
> > >>> scale at the same rate. In other words, abs(min) should always equal
> > >>> abs(max). Is this possible with rrdgraph?
> > >>
> > >>you could paint outbund traffic with the background color in the
> > >>positive y axis and the other way round, then the graph will scale
> > >>equally
> > >
> > > I had to think about that for a minute, it might not be clear to a new user.
> > >
> > > Just to clarify, you mean :
> > >
> > > Paint outbound traffic as positive using background colour
> > > Paint inbound traffic as positive with inbound data colour
> > >
> > > Paint inbound traffic as negative using background colour
> > > Paint outbound traffic as negative using outbound data colour
> > >
> > > Thus the Y axis will scale on the positive side to include the max
> > > value of inbound or outbound traffic, and it will scale on the
> > > negative side to include the min value of -ve inbound and -ve
> > > outbound traffic. Painting the data with the background colour
> > > doesn't draw anything visible, but it will cause the graph to
> > > autoscale to include it.
> > >
> > > _______________________________________________
> > > rrd-users mailing list
> > > rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> > > https://lists.oetiker.ch/cgi-bin/listinfo/rrd-users
> > >
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > rrd-users mailing list
> > rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> > https://lists.oetiker.ch/cgi-bin/listinfo/rrd-users
> >
> >
>
> --
> Tobi Oetiker, OETIKER+PARTNER AG, Aarweg 15 CH-4600 Olten, Switzerland
> http://it.oetiker.ch tobi at oetiker.ch ++41 62 775 9902 / sb: -9900
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 6
> Date: Wed, 8 Oct 2008 15:37:08 -0400
> From: "(private) HKS" <hks.private at gmail.com>
> Subject: Re: [rrd-users] Autoscaling y-axis max and min to same
> absolute value
> To: rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> Message-ID:
> <ac9ded160810081237t6e9e9861g4cb2887c38e108ea at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
>
> On Wed, Oct 8, 2008 at 3:17 PM, Tobias Oetiker <tobi at oetiker.ch> wrote:
> > HKS,
> >
> > the black box gets only drawn when there is a legend (or a bug in
> > your version of rrdtool).
> >
> > cheers
> > tobi
>
> I'm using this through OpenNMS, which interfaces with it through jrrd,
> so there's probably some logic in there somewhere that's decided to
> tack a blank legend onto any line configured without one. "AREA" is
> not affected by this, so I've accomplished the same thing with an AREA
> rather than a LINE.
>
> Thanks again for your help.
>
> -HKS
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 7
> Date: Wed, 08 Oct 2008 23:20:35 +0200
> From: Martin Lietz <flieger.martin at web.de>
> Subject: Re: [rrd-users] Lost Data??
> To: rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> Message-ID: <1357567652 at web.de>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-15
>
> Hello @all,
> after a while now i am much more familiar with rrdtool and it works fine excepting one point:
>
> /usr/local/rrdtool/bin/rrdtool fetch /usr/local/smokeping/var/Cidades/Alcobaca/ip10_134.rrd AVERAGE --start $START --end $END
>
> START and END are values in epoch format.
>
> This task works fine when i am searching values in the last hour week month, but if i search e.g. the hour between 15:00 and 16:00 one month ago it give me back only three values where in my opinion has to be 12 times more!
> I made a copy of the rrd in the Smokeping Application and i had the same problem there, so i am sure that it is a bug.
> If you have Smokeping on a Slackware system, please make a small test and search this timearea and give me a small response.
> If you know what i made wrong well give me a response too.
> Kind regards
> Martin Lietz
>
>
> ________________________________________________________________________
> Schon geh?rt? Bei WEB.DE gibt' s viele kostenlose Spiele:
> http://games.entertainment.web.de/de/entertainment/games/free/index.html
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 8
> Date: Wed, 8 Oct 2008 17:56:48 -0400
> From: Andy Riebs <andy.riebs at hp.com>
> Subject: Re: [rrd-users] Lost Data??
> To: rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> Cc: Martin Lietz <flieger.martin at web.de>
> Message-ID: <200810081756.49055.andy.riebs at hp.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-15"
>
> Martin,
>
> Please include your RRD definitions when you ask questions such as
> this -- it is important!
>
> My *guess* is that you have defined your RRD so that you store 1 month
> of frequent data (every 2 minutes?), and then less frequent data (every
> 20 minutes? 30 minutes?) for a longer period of time.
>
> /andy
>
> On Wednesday 08 October 2008, Martin Lietz wrote:
> > Hello @all,
> > after a while now i am much more familiar with rrdtool and it works
> > fine excepting one point:
> >
> > /usr/local/rrdtool/bin/rrdtool fetch
> > /usr/local/smokeping/var/Cidades/Alcobaca/ip10_134.rrd AVERAGE
> > --start $START --end $END
> >
> > START and END are values in epoch format.
> >
> > This task works fine when i am searching values in the last hour week
> > month, but if i search e.g. the hour between 15:00 and 16:00 one
> > month ago it give me back only three values where in my opinion has
> > to be 12 times more! I made a copy of the rrd in the Smokeping
> > Application and i had the same problem there, so i am sure that it is
> > a bug. If you have Smokeping on a Slackware system, please make a
> > small test and search this timearea and give me a small response. If
> > you know what i made wrong well give me a response too.
> > Kind regards
> > Martin Lietz
> >
> >
> > _____________________________________________________________________
> >___ Schon geh?rt? Bei WEB.DE gibt' s viele kostenlose Spiele:
> > http://games.entertainment.web.de/de/entertainment/games/free/index.h
> >tml
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > rrd-users mailing list
> > rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> > https://lists.oetiker.ch/cgi-bin/listinfo/rrd-users
>
>
>
> --
> Andy Riebs
> (w) +1.978.748.0043? ? andy.riebs at hp.com
> (h) andy at candooz.com
> My opinions are not necessarily those of HP
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> _______________________________________________
> rrd-users mailing list
> rrd-users at lists.oetiker.ch
> https://lists.oetiker.ch/cgi-bin/listinfo/rrd-users
>
>
> End of rrd-users Digest, Vol 22, Issue 6
> ****************************************
>
_________________________________________________________________________
In 5 Schritten zur eigenen Homepage. Jetzt Domain sichern und gestalten!
Nur 3,99 EUR/Monat! http://www.maildomain.web.de/?mc=021114
More information about the rrd-users
mailing list